Oscars® Nominees:

Best Picture:
American Beauty
The Cider House Rules
The Green Mile
The Insider
The Sixth Sense

Best Actor:
Russell Crowe in The Insider
Richard Farnsworth in The Straight Story
Sean Penn in Sweet and Lowdown
Kevin Spacey in American Beauty
Denzel Washington in The Hurricane

Best Actress:
Annette Bening in American Beauty
Janet McTeer in The Tumbleweeds
Julianne Moore in End of the Affair
Meryl Streep in Music of the Heart
Hilary Swank in Boys Don't Cry

Best Supporting Actor:
Michael Caine in The Cider House Rules
Tom Cruise in Magnolia
Michael Clarke Duncan in The Green Mile
Jude Law in The Talented Mr. Ripley
Haley Joel Osment in The Sixth Sense

Best Supporting Actress:
Toni Collette in The Sixth Sense
Angelina Jolie in Girl, Interrupted
Catherine Keener in Being John Malkovitch
Samantha Morton in Sweet and Lowdown
Chloe Sevigny in Boys Don't Cry

Best Director:
Sam Mendes for American Beauty
Spike Jonze for Being John Malkovich
Lasse Hallstrom for The Cider House Rules
Michael Mann for The Insider
M. Night Shyamalan for The Sixth Sense

Best Cinematography:
Conrad L. Hall for American Beauty
Roger Pratt for The End of the Affair
Dante Spinotti for The Insider
Emmanuel Lubezki for Sleepy Hollow
Robert Richardson for Snow Falling on Cedars

Best Art Direction:
Anna and the King
The Cider House Rules
Sleepy Hollow
The Talented Mr. Ripley

Best Costume Design:
Anna and the King
Sleepy Hollow
The Talented Mr. Ripley

Best Documentary Feature:
Buena Vista Social Club
Genghis Blues
On the Ropes
One Day in September
Speaking in Strings

Best Documentary Short Subject:

King Gimp
The Wildest Show in the South: The Angola
Prison Rodeo

Best Film Editing:
Tariq Anwar for American Beauty
Lisa Zeno Churgin for The Cider House Rules
William Goldenberg, Paul Rubell and David Rosenbloom for The Insider
Zach Staenberg for The Matrix
Andrew Mondshein for The Sixth Sense

Best Foreign Language Fillm:
All About My Mother
Solomon and Gaenor
Under the Sun

Best Makeup:
Michele Burke and Mike Smithson for Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me
Greg Cannom for Bicentennial Man
Rick Baker for Life
Christine Blundell and Trefor Proud for Topsy-Turvy

Best Original Score:
Thomas Newman for American Beauty
John Williams for Angela's Ashes
Rachel Portman for The Cider House Rules
John Corigliano for The Red Violin
Gabriel Yared for The Talented Mr. Ripley

Best Original Song:

South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut - "Blame Canada" music and lyric by Trey Parker and Marc Shaiman
Music of the Heart - "Music of my Heart" music and lyric by Diane Warren
Magnolia - "Save Me" music and lyric by Aimee Mann
Toy Story 2 - "When She Loved Me" music and lyric by Randy Newman
Tarzan - "You'll Be In My Heart" music and lyric by Phil Collins

Best Short Film - Animated:
My Grandmother Ironed the King's Shirts
The Old Man and the Sea
3 Misses
When the Day Breaks

Best Short Film - Live Action:
Bror, Min Bror
Killing Joe
Major and Minor Miracles
My Mother Dreams the Satan Disciples in New York

Best Sound:
The Green Mile
The Insider
The Matrix
The Mummy
Star Wars Episode I : The Pantom Menace

Best Sound Effects Editing:
Fight Club
The Matrix
Star Wars Episode I : The Phantom Menace

Best Visual Effects:
The Matrix
Star Wars Episode I : The Phantom Menace

Stuart Little

Best Screenplay - Adaptation:
The Cider House Rules screenplay by John Irving
Election screenplay by Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor
The Green Mile written for the screen by Frank Darabont
The Insider written by Eric Roth and Michael Mann
The Talented Mr. Ripley screenplay by Anthony Minghella

Best Screenplay - Original:
American Beauty written by Alan Ball
Being John Malkovich written by Charlie Kaufman
Magnolia written by Paul Thomas Anderson
The Sixth Sense written by M. Night Shyamalan
written by Mike Leigh

Honorary Awards:
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award - Warren Beatty
Honorary Award - Andrzej Wajda
Gordon E. Sawyer Award - Dr. Roderick T. Ryan

Confirmed Presenters
Gwyneth Paltrow, Ashley Judd, Chow Yun Fat, Steven Spielberg, Haley Joel Osment, Jude Law, Roberto Benigni, Salma Hayek, Samuel L. Jackson, Mike Meyers, Charlize Theron, and Judi Dench

ACADEMY AWARDS®, OSCAR(S)®, OSCAR NIGHT® and OSCARS® statuette design mark are the trademarks and service marks, and the OSCARS® statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. This site is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.


 Pat's Gold










Stars Online, Inc. © 1999-2000 All rights reserved.